50. hipsters

Standard

Read this passage today on one of the blogs that I follow:

Christians are engaged in a whole set of revolutionary, subversive practices, while failing to notice their significance. Simply to say that Christians are those who always go to church on Sundays may be a more significant practice than we realize… In a world where work is integral to worth, where the majority of our neighbors see Sunday morning as a time to go to the lake or to mow their grass, just getting up, getting dressed, and going to church becomes a sort of non-violent protest, a way of saying, ‘We want a different world than the one you serve.’ Just teaching our children that we go to church, without being able to explain the ‘deeper significance,’ might have immense political significance.

– Hauerwas, Stanley and William Willimon. Resident Aliens. Nashville Tenn.: Abingdon Press, 1989.

One thought on “50. hipsters

  1. John

    I have to disagree with this passage. This seems like “lazy” Christianity to me: “I go to Church therefore I’m a Christian hero and don’t have to actually behave like one.”

    Going to church is just normal – for most people it’s not even really much of a religious act, just a social activity, or something done out of force of habit. To be a “revolutionary”, I think you really need to be out there ministering as Jesus would: help the poor and disadvantaged, give money to charitable causes, and really love your fellow man.

    The attitude of this passage to me seems smug, privileged and WASPy – “I spend an ENTIRE HOUR a week going to Church, to which I wear my best clothes to stick it to the other parishioners, and I vote Republican to screw the poor and pass legislation to restrict the civil liberties of horrible people like gays and immigrants who do nothing to harm me but exist.”

Talk to me!

